🤖 Rating system

Scoring: robo-advisor comparison

This is how we rate digital asset managers. A robo-advisor does not execute individual orders but manages a portfolio – so we rate total costs, investment strategy and the verifiability of results instead of order fees.

Maximum score: 100
Magnifying glass over a robot head Magnifying glass over a robot head
Category Criterion Points breakdown Max. points
Costs Service fee per year
  • • ≤ 0.40% = full points
  • • ≤ 0.60% = 12 points
  • • ≤ 0.80% = 8 points
  • • ≤ 1.00% = 4 points
  • • > 1.00% = 0 points
16
Product costs of the funds used (TER)
  • • ≤ 0.20% = full points
  • • ≤ 0.35% = 7 points
  • • ≤ 0.50% = 4 points
  • • > 0.50% or not stated = 0 points
10
Other costs (transactions, performance fee)
  • • No further costs = full points
  • • Transaction costs only, no performance fee = 3 points
  • • Performance fee charged = 0 points
6
Investment strategy Investment universe and diversification
  • • Diversified worldwide across several asset classes = full points
  • • Shares and bonds worldwide = 7 points
  • • Limited to one region or asset class = 3 points
  • • Investment universe not stated = 0 points
10
Investor risk profiling
  • • Detailed questionnaire with at least five risk levels = full points
  • • Three to four risk levels = 5 points
  • • Fewer than three levels = 2 points
  • • No profiling = 0 points
8
Rebalancing rules
  • • Rules publicly documented and applied automatically = full points
  • • Automatic, but without documented rules = 4 points
  • • No automatic rebalancing = 0 points
7
Transparency & evidence Published performance
  • • Performance per risk level over at least three years after costs = full points
  • • Performance published, but shorter period or before costs = 4 points
  • • No performance published = 0 points
8
Disclosure of portfolio composition
  • • All funds used publicly listed with ISIN = full points
  • • Only asset classes stated = 3 points
  • • No disclosure before signing = 0 points
6
Clarity of the cost breakdown
  • • Total cost ratio including product costs at a glance = full points
  • • Costs complete but documented in several places = 2 points
  • • Costs only partly findable = 0 points
4
Access & flexibility Minimum investment
  • • ≤ €500 = full points
  • • ≤ €1,000 = 4 points
  • • ≤ €5,000 = 2 points
  • • > €5,000 = 0 points
6
Savings plan (minimum rate and frequency)
  • • Savings plan from €50 with freely selectable frequency = full points
  • • Savings plan with higher minimum rate or fixed frequency = 3 points
  • • No savings plan = 0 points
5
Withdrawal and termination
  • • Cancellable free of charge at any time, partial withdrawals possible = full points
  • • Cancellable with notice or full withdrawal only = 2 points
  • • Minimum term or cancellation fee = 0 points
4
Security & service Custodian bank and supervision
  • • German custodian bank and BaFin licence as asset manager = full points
  • • EU supervision with passporting = 3 points
  • • No verifiable licence = 0 points
5
App and customer portal
  • • App for iOS and Android plus web portal = full points
  • • Web portal only = 1 point
  • • No digital access = 0 points
3
Customer service
  • • Phone advice in German = full points
  • • Email or chat only = 1 point
2
Total points: 100